Bentonville DWI Attorneys Helping You Achieve Great Results at an Affordable Rate

Bentonville DWI Attorneys

Helping Those Accused of Driving While Intoxicated

A driving while intoxicated (DWI) accusation in Arkansas is a big deal. Even a first offense can result in incarceration, fines, and the loss of driving privileges. The penalties increase substantially for each subsequent violation/conviction. A DWI also comes with many collateral consequences, such as having a harder time getting car insurance and paying more when such is acquired, facing possible dismissal from a job, experiencing challenges when trying to get a new job, and having trouble renting a car. Because a drunk driving offense can have such significant ramifications on your life, it's essential to have a lawyer on your side, helping fight your charge.

At Norwood & Norwood, P.A., we have over 100 years of combined experience and know what it takes to get results. Our team has defended over 11,000 people in DWI cases and has achieved favorable outcomes, including "not guilty" verdicts, for past clients. Although we cannot guarantee results based on our past successes, we are ready to deliver the skilled and effective legal representation you need. When you turn to us, we will ask focused questions about your case, gaining a full understanding of what happened from the initial stop to the charges being filed. We are thorough in our review to ensure that we build an aggressive defense to cast doubt on the prosecuting attorney's case.

To schedule a free consultation with one of our Bentonville DWI lawyers, call us at (479) 235-4600 or contact us online today.

Arkansas's DWI Law

In Arkansas, it's unlawful for any person to be in actual or physical control of a motor vehicle while intoxicated. According to the law, a person may be considered intoxicated when their "reactions, motor skills, and judgment" are affected by drugs and/or alcohol, and such impairment places themselves or others at risk of injury or death.

The specific statute concerning DWI in Arkansas is A.C.A. 5-65-103.

It provides that a person commits an offense when they operate a vehicle:

  • While intoxicated by alcohol, a controlled substance, and/or an intoxicant; or
  • While their alcohol concentration is .08 or more

At Norwood & Norwood, P.A., we recognize that various factors can influence a person's driving behaviors and alcohol or drug intoxication is not always the cause. We also know that procedural errors can lead to skewed results on chemical tests. Yet, a person can be charged and convicted even because of faulty equipment or law enforcement misconduct. Our Bentonville DWI attorneys are ready to look through every log and examine all pieces of evidence in your case to determine what defenses may be raised. We will focus on protecting your rights and best interests.

DWI Penalties in Arkansas

A DWI conviction can lead to several criminal penalties. The specific sanctions a court can impose depend on the defendant's criminal history and whether a minor was in the vehicle at the time of the offense.

The potential conviction penalties for a DWI in Arkansas include:

  • First offense:
    • Between 24 hours and 1 year in jail
    • Between 7 days and 1 year in jail if a person under 16 years of age was in the vehicle
    • Between $150 and $1,000 in fines
    • At least $300 in court costs
    • Driver's license suspension for 6 months
  • Second offense (within 5 years of the first):
    • Between 7 days and 1 year in jail
    • Between 30 days and 1 year in jail if a person under 16 years of age was in the vehicle
    • Between $400 and $3,000 in fines
    • At least $300 in court costs
    • Driver's license suspension for 2 years
  • Third offense (within 5 years of the first):
    • Between 90 days and 1 year in jail
    • Between 120 days and 1 year in jail if a person under 16 years of age was in the vehicle
    • Between $900 and $5,000 in fines
    • At least $300 in court costs
    • Driver's license suspension for 30 months
  • Fourth offense (within 5 years of the first):
    • Between 1 and 6 years in prison
    • Between 2 and 6 years in prison if a person under 16 years of age was in the vehicle
    • Between $900 and $5,000 in fines
    • At least $300 in court costs
    • Driver's license revocation for 4 years

When you're facing such severe punishments as those imposed for a DWI, it's vital that you fight your charge to seek to avoid or minimize the penalties. At Norwood & Norwood, P.A., we have a track record of success in these matters. Before you plead guilty, speak with us about our approach and how we can challenge the accusations against you.

When our DWI lawyers in Bentonville take on a case, we work toward:

  • Obtaining the best possible result
  • Preventing driver's license suspension
  • Getting additional charges dismissed
  • Avoiding incarceration
  • Keeping fines and costs low

Will I Lose My Driver's License for an Arkansas DWI?

From the moment you are arrested for driving while intoxicated, you face the loss of your driving privileges. The arresting officer may immediately seize the person's driver's license and issue a temporary permit that is valid for 30 days. After the 30-day period, a full suspension goes into effect.

A person accused of a DWI may also be prohibited from driving if they refuse to be subject to a chemical test to determine alcohol concentration level or the presence of a controlled substance.

Under Arkansas's implied consent law (A.C.A. § 5-65-202), such a refusal is a violation and subject to the following sanctions:

  • First offense: 180-day driver's license suspension
  • Second offense (within 5 years of the first): 2-year driver's license suspension
  • Third offense (within 5 years of the first): 3-year driver's license revocation
  • Fourth offense (within 5 years of the first): lifetime revocation

The individual has 7 days to contest the suspension of their driving privileges. We can help you seek to maintain your driver's license.

Discuss Your Case with Our Team

At Norwood & Norwood, P.A., we will fight aggressively for you. Our team consists of former prosecutors, which means we can skillfully guide you through the process and let you know what to expect from a defense perspective as well as the opposition's.

We offer an affordable payment plan and a low down payment, and our Bentonville DWI attorneys are ready to speak with you during a free visit. Contact us at (479) 235-4600 today.

We Can Help You! 

6 Reasons to Choose Us
  • Nearly 100 Years of Combined Experience
  • More than 25,000 Charges Won or Dismissed
  • Highly Respected by Peers, Judges and Clients
  • Former Prosecutors Who Understand Both Sides of the Law
  • Affordable Payment Plans
  • Your First Visit is Absolutely Free
Meet Attorney Doug Norwood

Attorney Doug Norwood has over 30 years of experience helping clients throughout Northwest Arkansas. He and his team can review your case and determine your available legal options to help you avoid serious criminal penalties.

What Our Clients Have to Say

    Felony Case Dismissed!

    “FELONY CASE DISMISSED! I was charged with Possession of a Firearm, Theft by Receiving and Possession of Drug Paraphernalia....The attorneys were able to prove my case to the Prosecutor and as a result all 3 charges were DISMISSED!!!!”

    - Jack
    CHARGED WITH A DWI AND THEY GOT IT DROPPED!

    “CHARGED WITH A DWI AND THEY GOT IT DROPPED! I was initially charged with a DWI and they got it dropped! Norwood & Norwood was great, they acted with great honesty and integrity.”

    - Mike
    I WOULD GIVE 10 STARS IF I COULD!

    “I WOULD GIVE 10 STARS IF I COULD!!!! I met with Doug and he Made me feel much better about my drug charge. I am so glad I hired him. Norwood got my DRUG CHARGE DISMISSED and I couldn’t be more grateful.”

    - Maria
    Drug Crime Dismissed!

    “Drug Crime DISMISSED! From the moment I walked in I could tell I made the right decision. After picking up a drug charge Norwood helped me with my case allowing the charge to be dropped and expounged! Best Lawyer group in NWA.”

    - Ricky
    When I heard my attorneys got my charge dismissed, no money, no court I was overjoyed.

    “Norwood got my Domestic Battery DISMISSED. I have never been so happy. I was so scared I was shaking because I thought I was going to jail. When I heard my attorneys got my charge dismissed, no money, no court I was overjoyed.”

    - Taylor
/

Getting Started is Free

Contact Us at (479) 235-4600
  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please enter your ZipCode.
  • Please enter your Type of Charge.
  • Please enter your Court or County Charged In.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.
  • The Best of North Arkansas
  • Best Law Firms 2020
  • Best Law Firms
  • Best of Northwest Arkansas
  • Avvo Reviews
  • Best Lawyers
  • Super Lawyers
  • AVVO 10.0
  • Best Lawyers in Arkansas, Arkansas Times
  • AV Rated