Northwest AR Assault & Battery Lawyers
Defending Clients Who Are Facing Assault & Battery Charges in Benton County and Washington County, Arkansas
If you're visiting our website, you may have had an incident with a loved one or someone else and are facing a battery or assault charge. You are probably worried by the no-contact order and because you can get up to one year in jail and up to $2,500 in fines, even on the least serious battery charge—and you don’t know what to do. Attorney Doug Norwood and his criminal defense team know what to do.
More than 35,000 people have already trusted Norwood & Norwood, P.A. to help them, including thousands of people with battery/assault charges. His experience as a former prosecutor, plus over 30 years of battery/assault defense experience, gives our Northwest Arkansas assault & battery lawyers the experience to get you a great result! That is why we have hundreds of 5-star reviews, and the people of Northwest Arkansas have voted us Best of NWA Criminal Lawyer, NWA Democrat-Gazette.
We have handled thousands of battery/assault charges:
- Dismissed, or
- Found Not Guilty, or
- Kept off their records or reduced, and
- Many no-contact orders were dismissed.
You must decide if you need an attorney and if you should plead guilty or not guilty to the Judge. Our advice: you need us and plead not guilty. If you hire us, you will probably not have to go to your first court date.
Small Sample of Some of Our Assault/Battery Case Results
- DISMISSED: Domestic Battery 3rd Degree (State v R.E.)
- DISMISSED: Battery in the 3rd Degree (State v E.L.)
- DISMISSED: Domestic Battery (State v C.J.)
- DISMISSED: Assault in the 3rd Degree (State v R.G.)
- DISMISSED: Aggravated Assault (State v K.D.)
- NOT GUILTY: Domestic Assault (State v L.G.)
- KEPT OFF RECORD: Battery in the 3rd Degree (State v M.J.)
Check out more Assault or Battery results below or by clicking here.
Are you facing assault & battery charges? Call (479) 235-4600 today to discuss your case with our experienced Northwest Arkansas assault & battery attorneys. Request a free office visit today. We have offices in Bentonville, Fayetteville, Rogers, and Springdale.
What are the Penalties for an Assault & Battery Conviction?
A conviction for assault or battery can adversely affect both your personal and professional life. You cannot afford to proceed without the assistance of our experienced law firm on your side.
When you turn to Norwood & Norwood, P.A., our Northwest Arkansas assault and battery lawyers can help you fight to defend your rights and your freedom. We have successfully won, dismissed, and kept off criminal records thousands of battery/assault charges for our clients. We know it is a stressful time right now. Don’t’ worry…we have this!
Unless you win your assault/battery charge:
- You could be sentenced to jail or prison
- You may pay hundreds or thousands of dollars in fines and fees
- You may lose your gun rights forever
- You may have to sign up for substance abuse or anger management treatment at your own expense
- You may be placed on probation
- You may not be able to rent a place to live
- You could be fired from your job
- You may have a hard time getting a job
- You may have a hard time getting into college
- You may get suspended or expelled from college
Our legal team will use our decades of experience to fight to keep this from happening to you!
Arkansas Battery Laws
Although battery offenses may sound similar to assault, battery is usually a more serious crime with harsher penalties. The primary difference between the two charges is that battery includes offensive or unlawful physical contact, while assault may not. Battery charges can result from most forms of contact that cause injury.
Battery is divided into three degrees (first, second, and third).
First-Degree Battery in Arkansas
Battery in the first-degree battery is typically charged as a Class B Felony but under certain circumstances, can be charged as a Class Y Felony. The penalties for these charges range from 5 to 40 years of imprisonment.
An individual may be charged with first-degree battery when:
- The accused used a deadly weapon against another to cause physical injury
- The defendant intended to cause severe disfigurement to another by destroying or permanently disabling an organ or member of their body
- The individual caused serious personal injury to another in a manner that demonstrated extreme indifference to the value of human life
- The accused purposefully caused serious injury to an unborn child or a pregnant mother
- The defendant knowingly caused serious physical injury to a child under the age of 12
Second-Degree Battery in Arkansas
Second-degree battery is a Class D Felony, which carries a maximum prison term of six years and a fine of no more than $10,000.
An individual may be charged with second-degree battery if:
- The accused caused severe physical injury to someone else or used a deadly weapon rather than a gun
- The accused person’s reckless actions resulted in serious physical harm
- The defendant intentionally caused physical injury or incapacitates a police officer, firefighter, correctional officer, or any other type of law enforcement official in the act of duty
Domestic Battery & 3rd Degree Battery Arkansas
Third-degree battery and third-degree domestic battery (which involves a family or household member) are Class A Misdemeanors, which hold a maximum jail sentence of one year and a fine not exceeding $2,500.
Domestic battery third-degree may be considered a Class D Felony if the defendant knew or should’ve known that the alleged victim was pregnant or if the defendant was convicted of a prior domestic battery in the last five years.
Remember, if convicted of any domestic violence charge, you can lose your gun right!
Arkansas Assault Laws
In Arkansas, assault and battery are two separate offenses. Assault may be charged when an individual engages in behavior that causes another person to be at risk of injury or death. Additionally, if anyone intentionally tries to impede someone else’s breathing or blood circulation, he or she can be charged with assault.
Assault crimes are divided into four categories, including:
- 3rd Degree assault Arkansas – punishable by up to 30 days imprisonment and a maximum fine of $500
- Second-degree assault – punishable by up to 90 days imprisonment and a maximum fine of $1,000
- First-degree assault – punishable by up to one year imprisonment and a maximum fine of $2,500
- Aggravated assault – punishable by up to six years in prison and a maximum fine of $10,000;
Is Aggravated Assault a Felony?
Aggravated assault, the most serious assault offense, is charged as a felony. The other three categories of assault are charged as misdemeanors. The level of the crime is determined by the defendant’s intent, whether he or she used a firearm, and the seriousness of the risks caused by the behavior.
Contact Our Assault & Battery Attorneys Today
If you have been arrested for assault or battery, you do not have to fight your charges alone. Our Northwest Arkansas assault and battery attorneys can offer the aggressive legal representation you need. We are highly experienced and accomplished assault & battery attorneys with a proven track record of results; most of our clients never go to jail.
“Norwood got my Domestic Battery DISMISSED. I have never been so happy. I was so scared I was shaking because I thought I was going to jail. When I heard my attorneys got my charge dismissed, no money, no court I was overjoyed.”- Taylor
“Norwood is spectacular. I was charged with domestic violence and he got my charge dismissed. I am beyond happy and would recommend to anyone who has a crime charge.”- Wade
“20 STARS IF I COULD! His fees are always reasonable and they let me make payments. The latest case that is just finished is a Domestic Battery and will be dismissed. Great job and thank you.”- Mike
“DOMESTIC BATTERY DISMISSED! My domestic battery was dismissed and my criminal mischief was kept off my record. I didn’t have to go to court at all and I couldn’t be happier with the result.”- Kara
“Domestic Charge Dismissed! I was charged with two domestic charges, however I hired Norwood attorney and they were very reliable and helpful.”- Witt
“Domestic Battery Dismissed! My wife and I got into it and I was arrested for a second time... I could not have it on my record. Norwood had my back and now my charge will be dismissed!”- Jose
“Magnificent! Thank you so much for assisting me and for being on the ball!!! My assault charges were dismissed and I can go on with my life now!”- Matt
“Norwood and Norwood got my domestic battery dismissed. They kept me in the loop and the payment plans were affordable.”- Earl