Skip to Content

DWI Lawyers Northwest Arkansas

100% Focused on Criminal Defense and DWI/DUI in All of NWA

If you have been charged with driving while intoxicated (DWI), you should not handle your charges alone. You must understand that you can get up to 1 year in jail even on a first offense DWI. Without proper legal help, it can be easy to make costly mistakes that lead to life-changing consequences.

At Norwood & Norwood, P.A., we believe that everyone charged with a DWI/DUI needs an experienced lawyer and that you should plead NOT GUILTY. If you hire us, our Northwest Arkansas DWI attorneys can appear in court on your behalf, which means you won’t have to go to your first appearance unless it is a felony.

Small Sample of Some of Our DWI/DUI Case Results

  • NOT GUILTY: DWI - BAC .23 (State v J.G.)
  • NOT GUILTY:DWI– BAC .19 (State v J.S.)
  • NOT GUILTY:DWI3 – REFUSAL (State v B.L.)
  • NOT GUILTY:DWI3 – Drugs (State v J.L.)
  • NOT GUILTY:DWI – BAC .26 (State v J.M.)
  • NOT GUILTY:DWI – BAC .23 (State v V.M.)

Check out more DWI/DUI results below or by clicking here.

You may be worried because you’re unsure of how to handle your case. Norwood & Norwood, P.A. assures you that we know what to do. Our Northwest Arkansas DWI lawyers have fought for over 35,000 people charged with crimes, including 11,000 people charged with DWIs, and achieved thousands of “not guilty” results. Our NWA criminal defense team includes former prosecutors and has close to 100 years of experience. We know how to seek the best outcome possible.

That is why we have hundreds of 5-star reviews and have been voted Best NWA Criminal Lawyer by the NWA Democrat-Gazette.

Our Northwest Arkansas DWI lawyers have used our experience to win thousands of DWI cases where our client:

  • Tested over the legal limit (BAC = .22, .13, .09, .15, etc.),
  • Refused to take a breath test,
  • Was charged with DWI drugs, or
  • Was charged with an ACV (actual control of a vehicle)

We have also saved our clients over a million dollars in fines and court costs by negotiating dismissals of thousands of extra charges they got with the DWI.

Over 11,000 people have trusted us to defend their DWI case in NWA. Contact us at (479) 235-4600 today to get your defense underway with our Northwest Arkansas DWI lawyers.

DWI Charges in Arkansas

Under A.C.A. § 5-65-103, a person can be charged with DWI in one of two ways:

  1. They were in actual or physical control of a vehicle while intoxicated by alcohol and/or drugs. To be “intoxicated” means that the ingestion of a substance altered the driver’s motor skills and/or judgment to the point that they could not safely control their car, and they endangered their life or the lives of others.
  2. They were in actual or physical control of a vehicle and their breath- or blood-alcohol concentration was .08 or more.

If you plead “guilty,” the judge will sentence you on every charge to whatever they, within the minimum and maximum sentence. It is not true that a DWI is “no big deal” – that you will “just have to pay a fine and complete alcohol classes.” The judge can put you in jail for up to one year for even your first DWI. A DWI can cost more than $10,000 with fines, court costs, interlock fees, alcohol education fees, higher cost for car insurance, bail money, towing fees, impound fees, attorney fees, reinstatement fees, etc.

Don’t ever think that if you plead guilty to the judge, you won’t leave the courtroom in handcuffs. It happens!

At your first free visit, our Northwest Arkansas DWI lawyers will discuss how we will fight to:

  • Win your case
  • Take steps to keep your driver’s license from being suspended
  • Get extra charges dismissed
  • Keep charges off your record
  • Keep you out of jail
  • Keep your fines low
  • Arrange payments for fines and costs

Our Northwest Arkansas DWI lawyers will also give you a reasonable price, with no hidden fees, and set you up on an affordable payment plan with a low down payment (Visa/MasterCard/Discover accepted). We want to help you!

Our NWA DWI Defense Team has 100’s of Five Star Reviews

We are not afraid to take your case to trial. Prosecutors are aware of how hard we fight for our clients.

They often give our clients the best possible deals because:

  1. they respect our commitment toward our clients, and
  2. they understand that if they didn’t respect our efforts, they would have to spend a lot of time thoroughly preparing for trial.

Our NWA DWI attorneys' goal is to exceed your expectations. If your case is not winnable, we will minimize the damage for you. We know this is a stressful time for you right now, and we want to fight for you.

Arkansas DWI Penalties

In the state of Arkansas, it is illegal to drive with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level of .08% or higher.

Those convicted of DWI are subject to several severe punishments. The extent of the penalties is dependent on your prior DWI convictions.

The penalties for DWI in Arkansas include:

First-offense DWI:

  • 1 day to 1 year in jail,
  • Up to a $1,000 fine,
  • At least $300 in court costs, and
  • Up to 6 months’ driver’s license suspension

Second-offense DWI:

  • 7 days to 1 year in jail,
  • Up to a $3,000 fine,
  • At least $300 in court costs, and
  • Up to 24 months’ driver’s license suspension

Third-offense DWI:

  • 90 days to 1 year in jail,
  • Up to a $5,000 fine,
  • At least $300 in court costs, and
  • Up to 30 months’ driver’s license suspension

Fourth-offense DWI:

  • 1 to 6 years in prison,
  • Up to a $5,000 fine,
  • At least $300 in court costs, and
  • Up to 4 years’ driver’s license revocation

What’s an Underage DUI in AR?

If a person under 21 years of age operates or is in physical control of a vehicle after ingesting alcohol, they can be charged with DUI.

Specifically, A.C.A. § 5-65-303 provides that an underage driver commits this offense when they:

  • Are under the influence of alcohol, meaning that their reaction, motor skills, and judgment are even slightly affected by the substance, and their ability to safely operate their car is compromised; or
  • Have a blood- or breath- alcohol concentration between .02 and .079.

An underage DUI is an unclassified misdemeanor.

The punishments include:

First offense:

  • Driver’s license suspension for 90 days
  • Between $100 and $500 in fines
  • Completion of an alcohol and driving education program

Second offense:

  • Driver’s license suspension for 1 year
  • Between $200 and $1,000 in fines
  • At least 30 days of public service work
  • Completion of an alcohol and driving education program

Third or subsequent offense:

  • Driver’s license revocation for 3 years or until the driver turns 21 years of age (whichever is longer)
  • Between $500 and $2,000 in fines
  • At least 60 days of public service work
  • Completion of an alcohol and driving education program

What’s Arkansas’ Implied Consent Law?

In Arkansas, if a person operates or is in physical control of a vehicle on public roads, they are deemed to have implicitly agreed to be subject to a chemical test to determine alcohol concentration level. The term “deemed” is used because the driver does not have to verbally agree to participate in a blood, urine, or breath test. The mere fact that they are driving on a highway or street allows the law to infer permission was given.

Also, even if the driver is incapable of refusing the test (for instance, if they were unconscious), they are still considered to have implicitly consented to chemical testing. Before law enforcement officials can request that a blood test be administered, they must get a warrant – this requirement applies whether the driver was conscious or unconscious.

The chemical testing requirement applies to underage drivers as well as those 21 years of age and older when:

  • They were arrested because of an offense associated with driving while intoxicated or under the influence;
  • They caused an accident when driving under the influence or while intoxicated; or
  • They were arrested for DUI or DWI, and the officer had reasonable cause to believe they were intoxicated.

Will I Lose My Driver’s License for a DWI in AR?

Under Arkansas Administrative Law, a law enforcement officer must seize the driver’s license of any person arrested for DWI or DUI. The officer will issue a temporary driver’s license, which is valid for 30 days. The driver has 7 days to contest the suspension of their driving privileges. If they do not prevail, their driver’s license will be suspended or revoked for a certain length of time. The suspension/revocation period depends on the driver’s age and the number of previous DWI or DUI convictions.

To have their driving privileges reinstated, they must:

  • Complete a Drug and Alcohol Education or treatment program,
  • Complete a Victim Impact Panel class
  • Install an Ignition Interlock Device (if required)
  • Pay a reinstatement fee
  • Pass the Arkansas Driver’s License exam (if applicable)

To schedule a free visit, contact us at (479) 235-4600. Affordable payment plans available. Our NWA DWI attorneys want to help you!

Things You May Not Know About an Arkansas DWI

Unless you win your DWI case:

  • You may do serious prison/jail time and have a fine, plus court costs, up to around $5,300
  • Your driver’s license will be suspended for at least 6 months unless you win the license hearing
  • You may have to pay for an IID on your car for a minimum of 6 months unless you win the license hearing
  • You will have to do alcohol or substance abuse treatment at your own expense
  • Your jail time increases if someone under 16 was in the car at the time of your arrest for your DWI
  • You will have to do victim impact panel at your own expense
  • You may have a harder time getting, and have to pay more for car, health, and life insurance
  • Your college may put you on probation, suspend you, give you community service, etc.
  • You may have trouble traveling out of the country, including Canada
  • You may have trouble renting a car
  • You may have trouble getting a job in the future
  • Your credit may be affected
  • You may be fired from your current job

What Should I Do Within 7 Days?

You should have been given two pink or blue pieces of paper when you were arrested for DWI/DUI. One of the sheets is your receipt for your driver’s license. The other must be filled out and sent to Little Rock, Arkansas, within seven days of your arrest to request a hearing regarding your driver’s license suspension. Contact our office immediately to set up a free visit so we can help you fight to maintain your driving privileges.

Let Us Help with Your Case

While we cannot guarantee specific results, we can assure you that we will fight to win your case. Whether this is your first or fourth charge of driving while intoxicated, our Northwest Arkansas DWI attorneys can help get the best result for your case.

Contact Norwood & Norwood, P.A. at (479) 235-4600 to schedule a free office visit. Our Northwest Arkansas DWI lawyers are available to answer your call 24/7.

    “CHARGED WITH A DWI AND THEY GOT IT DROPPED! I was initially charged with a DWI and they got it dropped! Norwood & Norwood was great, they acted with great honesty and integrity.”
    - Mike
    “Definitely our FIRST CHOICE!”
    “Found Not Guilty on DWI and No Drug Charges on Record! Norwood did an absolutely amazing job. I was so concerned having 5 charges including Dwi and drugs, but from the beginning everyone worked very hard on this case.”
    - David
    “Wonderful Attorney!”
    “Wonderful Attorney! Norwood won my DWI. I am very excited because I can get the blow machine out of my car and I won’t have anything on my record.”
    - Sam
    “I hired Norwood because of his great reviews and boy am I glad I did.”
    “I was charged with a DWI and refusal to take the breath test. Norwood won it all!!!! Everyone in the firm is super friendly and everyone cares about you.”
    - Ed
    “Everything about dealing with Doug’s firm has been first rate.”
    “Doug Norwood and his firm WON MY DWI. I am so excited. It will save me tons of money on my insurance and in fines and court costs.”
    - Andy
    “DWI Drugs case dropped!”
    “DWI Drugs case dropped! They got the DWI DROPPED And I only had one traffic charge conviction. I feel this went in my favor for sure.”
    - John
    “I was found not guilty at DWI trial. Norwood & Norwood were able to get me completely out of the charges.”
    “DWI-Not Guilty! I was facing charges for DWI and Fleeing. The charges were wrong from the beginning and Norwood & Norwood were able to get me completely out of the charges. I was found not guilty at trial.”
    - Darin
    “DWI DROPPED! Was arrested for DWI and I was super stressed. I called for an appointment and was able to schedule it that weekend. They gave me their professional advice and let me make the choice. Best of all THEY GOT MY DWI DROPPED!”
    - Leigh

Contact Norwood & Norwood, P.A. Today!

Getting Started is Free

A member of our team will be in touch shortly to confirm your contact details or address questions you may have.

  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.
  • By submitting, you agree to be contacted about your request & other information using automated technology. Message frequency varies. Msg & data rates may apply. Text STOP to cancel. Acceptable Use Policy