Misdemeanor Attorneys Northwest Arkansas
Defending Clients Who are Facing Misdemeanor Charges in Bentonville, Fayetteville, Rogers and Springdale, and all of NWA
If you are facing a misdemeanor charge, a conviction can lead to a jail sentence of 1 year and a fine of up to $2,500. If you are worried about how to handle your case, Attorney Doug Norwood and his criminal defense team know what to do. For more than 30 years, over 35,000 people charged with crimes in NWA have trusted Norwood & Norwood, P.A. to fight for them to get the best possible result. We have had tens of thousands of misdemeanor charges dismissed for our clients.
These results are why we have hundreds of 5-star reviews on Google and AVVO and have been voted Best of NWA Criminal Lawyer by the NWA Democrat-Gazette.
If you or a loved one has been arrested for allegedly committing a misdemeanor offense, you need to hire an experienced Northwest Arkansas misdemeanor lawyer to fight to help avoid a conviction, which can result in serious penalties. With almost 100 years of combined experience, Norwood & Norwood, P.A. can protect your rights, reputation, and future. We will use our knowledge and resources to help you seek to avoid jail time, get your misdemeanor charges dismissed, or keep your record clean.
Why Hire Norwood & Norwood, P.A. For Your Misdemeanor Case
Northwest Arkansas misdemeanor attorneys have already helped our clients get tens of thousands of misdemeanor charges:
- Reduced to lesser crimes,
- Found not guilty, or
- Kept off their records
Small sample of some of our misdemeanor case results:
- DISMISSED: SHOPLIFTING (State v J.S.)
- NOT GUILTY: DWI – BAC .19 (State v J.S.)
- DISMISSED: POSSESSION - PILLS (State v J.B.)
- DISMISSED: POSSESSION - MARIJUANA (State v J.W.)
- DISMISSED: DOMESTIC BATTER 3RD DEGREE (State v J.M.)
- DISMISSED: DISORDERLY CONDUCT (State v K.L.)
Check out more DWI/DUI results below or by clicking here.
Should I Plead Guilty For a Misdemeanor?
We advise everyone charged with a misdemeanor to plead “not guilty” to their charges. Pleading “guilty” may result in the judge sentencing you to whatever the judge wants, within the minimum and maximum sentence. Being charged with any misdemeanor crime is always a big deal. For many, the judge can put you in jail for up to 1 year.
Please don’t ever think that if you plead guilty to the judge that you won’t leave the courtroom in handcuffs. We have seen that happen way too often to people who don’t have an experienced Northwest Arkansas misdemeanor attorney! Most of our clients do not go to jail.
Some people worry that if they plead “not guilty” when they feel they are guilty, it could hurt them later. Please, do not worry. The criminal justice system is designed for you to assert your innocence. Most judges probably prefer for people to plead “not guilty.”
When clients plead not guilty, this opens up several avenues for us to pursue. First, it allows us to examine all of the evidence to see whether the prosecutor has enough to prove your guilt beyond a reasonable doubt. Northwest Arkansas misdemeanor attorneys also check to see if the police made any mistakes. We have had thousands of charges dismissed by finding police mistakes and problems with the evidence, even when our client is technically guilty.
Second, the system is designed for us to negotiate with the prosecutor to seek the best possible result for you. The prosecutor negotiates so that the state is spared the time and expense of a trial.
When you schedule a free visit, Northwest Arkansas misdemeanor lawyers will let you know about our reasonable fee and affordable payment plans with a low down payment (Visa/MasterCard/Discover accepted).
We will also discuss ways we will fight toward:
- Getting your entire case dismissed
- Keeping you out of jail
- Reducing your fines
- Keeping your gun rights
- Keeping you from getting a criminal conviction record
- Obtaining a favorable outcome
- Keeping you from going to court
- Arranging for payments of fines and court cost
We have offices in Bentonville, Fayetteville, Rogers, and Springdale and serve clients throughout Northwest Arkansas. Our Northwest Arkansas misdemeanor attorneys have handled thousands of misdemeanor cases and understand what it takes to seek the most favorable results in your case. Check out the most recent case results we achieved for our clients!
Misdemeanor Penalties in Northwest Arkansas
In Arkansas, misdemeanors are designated as Class A, B, C, or unclassified. Although a misdemeanor offense is not as serious as a felony, a conviction may still result in up to 1 year in jail and expensive fines. Additionally, it may lead to a criminal record that can cause severe harm to your personal life and professional reputation.
The following is a breakdown of Arkansas misdemeanor penalties:
- Class A misdemeanor: These are considered the most serious misdemeanor offenses. As such, they carry the steepest punishments. The conviction penalties include:
- Up to 1 year in jail and/or
- A maximum fine of $2,500
An example of a Class A misdemeanor is first-degree promoting prostitution.
- Class B misdemeanor: This classification is considered less severe than Class A misdemeanors. Upon a conviction, a defendant may be sentenced to:
- Up to 90 days and/or
- A maximum fine of $1,000
Various crimes are included in this group, such as public display of obscenity.
- Class C misdemeanor: Crimes in this category are considered the least serious misdemeanors; however, that does not mean they are not serious offenses. A conviction may result in:
- Up to 30 days and/or
- A maximum fine of $500
Third-degree assault is an example of a Class C misdemeanor.
- Unclassified misdemeanor: Unclassified misdemeanors are those listed in the Arkansas Criminal Code that has conviction penalties stated explicitly in the statute.
Common misdemeanor offenses include:
- Assault: Generally, assault occurs when a person attempts to cause harm to another individual. Arkansas has four separate assault statutes, three of which list the offense as a misdemeanor.
A person can be charged with a Class C misdemeanor if they make someone else fear imminent injury (the crime is referred to as third-degree assault).
If a person recklessly does something that can result in physical injury to another, they could be charged with second-degree assault, which is a Class B misdemeanor.
First-degree assault is charged when a person either recklessly does something that puts another individual at substantial risk of serious injury or death. The offense is also committed when a person chokes or suffocates someone else. First-degree assault is a Class A misdemeanor.
- Public intoxication: A person may be accused of this offense if they are under the influence of drugs and/or alcohol in public and, being in such a state, they put the lives of themselves or others at risk or they annoy anyone near them.
The first time someone commits the crime, they are charged with a Class C misdemeanor. However, upon a third or subsequent offense within 5 years, they will be hit with an unclassified misdemeanor charge and face the penalties enumerated in the statute.
- Indecent exposure: Anyone who exposes their genitals either in a public place or in a way that will cause alarm may be charged with indecent exposure. The crime is a Class A misdemeanor.
- Possession of marijuana: In Arkansas, marijuana is a Schedule VI controlled substance. Possession of fewer than 4 ounces is a Class A misdemeanor.
- Disorderly conduct: A person may be charged with disorderly conduct if they engage in any act that disturbs others. For instance, making loud noises or using obscene language are considered offenses under the law. Disorderly conduct is a Class C misdemeanor.
- Prostitution: Any person who engages in or agrees to engage in sexual conduct in exchange for anything of value may be charged with prostitution. A first offense is a Class B misdemeanor, and a second or subsequent offense is a Class A misdemeanor.
Can a Misdemeanor Be Expunged/Sealed in Arkansas?
Expungement is the process of getting an arrest or conviction removed from a criminal record. In Arkansas, this is known as “record sealing.” It does not destroy the information entirely. Instead, record sealing clears it, making it inaccessible to the public. Only in limited circumstances may law enforcement agencies or courts allow access to the information.
In Arkansas, a person can generally petition for an expungement/sealing of misdemeanor information immediately after completing their sentence and paying all fines. However, if the individual was convicted of certain offenses, such as indecent exposure or battery, they must wait 5 years after completing their sentence to request to have their record cleared.
Contact Our Misdemeanor Attorney Today
When you schedule a free office visit, we can thoroughly review your case and determine your available legal options. Our team, which consists of former prosecutors, who have a comprehensive understanding of both sides of the courtroom, will help you through the complexities of the criminal justice system and work toward either obtaining a not-guilty verdict, getting your entire case thrown out, or getting your charges/penalties reduced.
Norwood & Norwood, P.A. has defended more than 35,000 cases since our law firm opened in 1988. Let our Northwest Arkansas misdemeanor attorneys fight for you throughout the legal process and help you avoid serious penalties.
“FELONY CASE DISMISSED! I was charged with Possession of a Firearm, Theft by Receiving and Possession of Drug Paraphernalia....The attorneys were able to prove my case to the Prosecutor and as a result all 3 charges were DISMISSED!!!!”- Jack
“CHARGED WITH A DWI AND THEY GOT IT DROPPED! I was initially charged with a DWI and they got it dropped! Norwood & Norwood was great, they acted with great honesty and integrity.”- Mike
“I WOULD GIVE 10 STARS IF I COULD!!!! I met with Doug and he Made me feel much better about my drug charge. I am so glad I hired him. Norwood got my DRUG CHARGE DISMISSED and I couldn’t be more grateful.”- Maria